Throughout its history, the NBA has been a league of the haves and the have-nots. The have-nots have suffered through some of the longest playoff droughts in NBA history.

The Boston Celtics have won a record 18 championships and the Los Angeles Lakers are right behind with 17. The Golden State Warriors, San Antonio Spurs and any team with LeBron James dominated the 2010s.

But with the iconic teams come the duality of the NBA: those who have long suffered through playoff disappointment.

Here are the longest playoff droughts in NBA history.

Longest Active Postseason Drought

Charlotte Hornets: 7 (2015-16)

The Hornets returned to the playoffs in their second season with their new (old) name in 2015-16 as the East’s six seed, losing in seven games to the Miami Heat. It was only their third playoff appearance since their rebirth as the Bobcats in 2004-05.

Longest Active Series Win Droughts

T-1. Charlotte Hornets: 19 Seasons (Last Series Win 2003-04)

The Hornets have had first-round exits in their last three playoff appearances. The last time Charlotte won a playoff series, the franchise left for New Orleans for the following season (and rattled off two more consecutive playoff appearances). That year, 2001-02, the Charlotte Hornets clinched their third consecutive playoff berth, this time as the fourth seed in the Eastern Conference. They beat the Orlando Magic in four games (back when the first round of the NBA playoffs was a five-game series) before losing to the New Jersey Nets in five games.

T-1. Sacramento Kings: 19 (2003-04)

We revisit the Kings, who last won a postseason series in 2003-04, defeating the Dallas Mavericks 4-1 in the first round of the Western Conference playoffs. In the semifinals, they lost to the previously mentioned ’03-04 Timberwolves team in seven games. Sacramento reached the playoffs in each of the next two seasons, but lost in the first round both times. They came close against the defending champion Golden State Warriors in 2023, but lost Game 7 of their first-round series on their own floor.

  • 3. Detroit Pistons: 15 (2007-08)
  • 4. Orlando Magic: 13 (2009-10)

Longest Active Conference Finals Droughts

1. Washington Wizards: 45 Seasons (Last Appearance 1978-79)

The Wizards haven’t made the conference finals since the 1970s. For context, Jimmy Carter was the President of the United States, a gallon of gas cost $0.86 and Apocalypse Now released in theaters. That’s how long it’s been since Washington has been within even four games of reaching the NBA Finals. That year, after defeating the San Antonio Spurs in the Eastern Conference finals, the Wizards lost to the Seattle SuperSonics in five games in the NBA Finals after having defeated the Sonics in seven games in the Finals the year before.

2. Charlotte Hornets: 34 (Never)

The Hornets are one of two NBA teams to never appear in a conference final (the New Orleans Pelicans are the other, which is a coincidence to say the least). In 2000-01, Charlotte took a 3-2 lead over the Milwaukee Bucks in the conference semifinals before losing the final two games of the series.

  • 3. New York Knicks: 24 (1999-00)
  • T-4. Philadelphia 76ers: 23 (2000-01)
  • T-4. New Orleans Pelicans: 22 (Never)
  • 6. Sacramento Kings: 22 (2001-02)

Longest Active NBA Finals Droughts

1. Sacramento Kings: 73 Seasons (Last Appearance 1950-51)

Seriously, go hug your local Kings fan. The Kings haven’t reached the NBA Finals since they were called the Royals and played in Rochester, New York. Since then, they moved to Cincinnati for 15 seasons, changed their name to the Kings and split time between Kansas City and Omaha for three seasons, then permanently moved to Kansas City for 10 seasons before finally relocating to Sacramento ahead of the 1985-86 season. Got all that?

2. Atlanta Hawks: 63 (1960-61)

The Hawks are quietly a tortured franchise. They last appeared in an NBA Finals when the franchise was in St. Louis. They moved to Atlanta seven years later in 1968 and never returned to glory.

  • 3. Los Angeles Clippers: 54 (Never)
  • 4. Washington Wizards: 45 (Never)

Five teams have never reached the NBA Finals: Los Angeles Clippers, Minnesota Timberwolves, Charlotte Hornets, Memphis Grizzlies and New Orleans Pelicans.

Longest Active NBA Title Droughts

1. Sacramento Kings: 73 Seasons (Last Title 1950-51)

Our sincere apologies, Sacramento. You deserve better.

2. Atlanta Hawks: 66 (1957-58)

The Hawks won the NBA Finals as the St. Louis Hawks in 1958.

3. Phoenix Suns: 56 (Never)

The Suns were so close in 2020-21. They reached their third NBA Finals in franchise history, and held a 2-0 series lead before losing four straight to the Milwaukee Bucks. The Suns also lost the NBA Finals in six games in 1976 to the Boston Celtics and in 1992 to the Chicago Bulls.

  • 4. Los Angeles Clippers: 54 (Never)
  • 5. New York Knicks: 51 (1972-73)

Longest Postseason Droughts – All Time

1. Los Angeles Clippers: 15 (1976-77 to 1990-91)

Before the Lob City era, which began in 2011-12 with the arrival of Chris Paul, the Clippers were the poster child for poorly run sports franchises.

  • 2. Minnesota Timberwolves: 13 (2004-05 to 2016-17)
  • 3. Golden State Warriors: 12 (1994-95 to 2005-06)

Longest Series Win Droughts – All Time

1. Los Angeles Clippers: 29 Seasons (1976-77 to 2004-05)

While the Clippers didn’t even make the playoffs for 15 seasons from 1977-91, the franchise didn’t win a postseasons series again until 2006 when it beat the Denver Nuggets in five games. Elton Brand and Corey Maggette led the way, averaging 17.8 and 17.0 points, respectively, in the series. In the next round, the Clippers and Phoenix Suns alternated wins, as the Suns won Games 1, 3, 5 and 7 to win the series.  

2. Washington Wizards: 22 (1982-83 to 2003-04)

Are you sensing a theme here? Many of the teams on this list appear multiple times, as the NBA is so often dominated by a small handful of teams in every era of the league. After defeating the New Jersey Nets in the first round of the 1982 NBA playoffs, Washington lost seven consecutive postseason series. In the 2005 playoffs, the Wizards finally broke through again, defeating the Chicago Bulls in the first round behind Gilbert Arenas and Larry Hughes.

  • 3. Charlotte Hornets: 20 (2004-05 to Present)
  • T-4. Sacramento Kings: 19 (1981-82 to 1999-00)
  • T-4. Sacramento Kings: 19 (2004-05 to Present)
  • T-7. Milwaukee Bucks: 17 (2001-02 to 2017-18)
  • T-7. New Jersey Nets: 17 (1984-85 to 2000-01)
  • T-7. Indiana Pacers: 17 (1976-77 to 1992-93)

Research support provided by Stats Perform’s Emory Brinkman.