Everyone loves a last-minute winner, don’t they? Well, obviously not if you’re on the receiving end…

Harvey Elliott became the latest player to score a winning goal in added time in a Premier League match on 9 December, following his last-minute strike for Liverpool versus Crystal Palace at Selhurst Park. It was the 13th winner scored in the 90th minute or later across the Premier League in 2023-24 already, and the second in the space of five days after Declan Rice had netted one in the 97th-minute at Luton for Arsenal in midweek.

With 90th-minute winning goals on everyone’s minds, we look back at the various stats, facts and records surrounding them in Premier League history.

Which Team Has Scored the Most Last-Minute Winners in Premier League History?

Premier League Last Minute Winners

Liverpool lead the way here, with 43 of their Premier League wins decided by a goal in the 90th minute or later. The latest of those came via Elliott’s last-gasp winner at Crystal Palace – the club’s first since Darwin Núñez scored a last-minute winner to complete a sensational brace after coming off the bench at Newcastle. His goals saw them come from behind at St James’ Park despite being down to 10 men following Virgil van Dijk’s dismissal in the first half.

Arsenal moved up to second in the rankings with Rice’s winner at Luton on 5 December – that was their 32nd last-minute winner in Premier League history, which overtakes north London rivals Tottenham’s tally of 31. It was their fifth 90th-minute winner in a Premier League game across 2023, which broke a Premier League record, overtaking seven clubs’ previous efforts of four in a single year.

Arsenal's Last Minute Winners 2023

Which Team Has Conceded the Most Last-Minute Winners in Premier League History?

Premier League Last Minute Winners Conceded

Tottenham’s defeat to Wolverhampton Wanderers at Molineux on 11 November 2023 was the 27th time in Premier League history that they have lost a match to an opposition side’s 90th-minute winning goal. In fact, Spurs were winning that match 1-0 in second-half added time, before goals from Pablo Sarabia (90+1) and Mario Lemina (90+7) stole all three points for Wolves.

Elliott’s goal for Liverpool on 9 December was the 15th last-minute-winning goal that Crystal Palace have conceded in the Premier League, equalling Liverpool’s tally.

Despite playing in every Premier League season, Manchester United have only conceded five 90+ minute goals that proved to be winners – just one of those came in the Alex Ferguson era, courtesy of Thierry Henry’s last-gasp winner for Arsenal at the Emirates Stadium in January 2007. In fact, three of those five games lost to last-minute winners have been against Arsenal.

The Most Premier League Last-Minute Winners by Players

Six different players have scored as many as four last-minute winners in Premier League history, but just one of those is currently playing in the competition: Marcus Rashford.

Winners versus Hull City (August 2016), Bournemouth (November 2018), Wolves (December 2020) and West Ham (January 2022) mean that with one more 90th-minute winning goal, he could go outright top in Premier League history among all players.

He currently shares the lead with five other players: Steven Gerrard, Ian Wright, Christian Benteke, Papiss Demba Cissé and Sadio Mané. All-time leading Premier League scorer Alan Shearer scored three winning goals in the 90th minute or later, as did Henry, Michael Owen, Robbie Fowler, Harry Kane and Robin van Persie alongside nine others.

Ben Foster was on the receiving end of the most 90th-minute winning goals in Premier League history, conceding 13 overall. That’s one more than David James and Joe Hart and two more than Brad Friedel and Lukasz Fabianski.

Stadiums With the Most Last-Minute Winners

No Premier League stadium has witnessed more 90th-minute winners than Anfield. Of the 28 scored at Liverpool’s iconic stadium, 22 have been scored by the Reds. The last visiting player to score a 90th-minute winning goal at Anfield in the Premier League was Robin van Persie for Arsenal on 3 March 2012, which handed the Gunners a 2-1 victory on Merseyside.

It’s the other stadium on Merseyside that’s witnessed the next most, with Everton’s Goodison Park seeing 23 last-minute winners in Premier League history – nine by the opposition and 14 in their favour. Liverpool have scored three of these, thanks to goals from Gary McAllister (April 2001), Dirk Kuyt (October 2007) and Mané (December 2016).

90th minute winners in Premier League stadiums

Fergie Time?

Well, technically we should be labelling it ‘Moyesy Time.’

David Moyes has been in charge of 32 Premier League matches that have been decided by a goal in the 90th minute or later. Unfortunately for the Scotsman, nobody has lost more games via 90th-minute goals than any other boss in the history of the competition (12). One consolation is that he’s now (20) just one 90th-minute winner away from holding a joint-lead alongside Arsène Wenger (21). Roy Hodgson is now tied with Moyes on 12 games lost via last-minute goals in the Premier League after Elliott’s strike on 9 December.

Ferguson won 16 Premier League matches as Manchester United boss via goals scored in the 90th minute or later across his tenure in charge of the club. He lost 114 games overall in the Premier League, but just one of those came via a 90th-minute goal – the aforementioned Arsenal win via Henry’s strike at the Emirates in 2007.

After that 2-1 victory over Crystal Palace on MD 16 of the 2023-24 campaign, Jürgen Klopp has seen his Liverpool side in 17 matches with last-minute goals, overtaking Fergie’s record as Man Utd boss (16). Only Moyes (20) and Wenger (21) have now won more games in this manner – a record that Klopp will have his eye on beating in the future.

Premier League Last Minute Winners Managers

Enjoy this? Subscribe to our new football newsletter to receive exclusive weekly content. You should also follow our social accounts over on XInstagramTikTok and Facebook.