College football realignment and affiliation changes are starting to feel as common as field goals and touchdowns – and the FCS is very much in the mix in 2024.

The impact of the changes on FCS college football, which go into effect on July 1, is unmistakable. The number of programs will rise to 129 this season – the second-most all-time – but they’re also expected to drop down by one next year, when Delaware and Missouri State move up to the FBS and Southland Conference addition UTRGV plays an inaugural season.

Next year’s two-for-one switch is a reversal from this season, as Kennesaw State is departing for the FBS, but Division II members Mercyhurst and West Georgia are moving up to the FCS.

2024 FCS Member Programs by Conference

16 – CAA Football (UAlbany, Bryant, Campbell, Delaware, Elon, Hampton, Maine, Monmouth, New Hampshire, North Carolina A&T, Rhode Island, Richmond, Stony Brook, Towson, Villanova and William & Mary)

12 – Big Sky Conference (Cal Poly, Eastern Washington, Idaho, Idaho State, Montana, Montana State, Northern Arizona, Northern Colorado, Portland State, Sacramento State, UC Davis and Weber State)

12 – Southwestern Athletic Conference (East Division: Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Bethune-Cookman, Florida A&M, Jackson State and Mississippi Valley State; West Division: Alcorn State, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Grambling State, Prairie View A&M, Southern and Texas Southern)

11 – Missouri Valley Football Conference (Illinois State, Indiana State, Missouri State, Murray State, North Dakota, North Dakota State, Northern Iowa, South Dakota, South Dakota State, Southern Illinois and Youngstown State)

11 – Pioneer Football League (Butler, Davidson, Dayton, Drake, Marist, Morehead State, Presbyterian, St. Thomas, San Diego, Stetson, Valparaiso)

9 – Big South-OVC Football Association (Charleston Southern, Eastern Illinois, Gardner-Webb, Lindenwood, Southeast Missouri, Tennessee State, Tennessee Tech, UT Martin and Western Illinois)

9 – Southern Conference (Chattanooga, ETSU, Furman, Mercer, Samford, The Citadel, VMI, Western Carolina and Wofford)

9 – Southland Conference (HCU, Lamar, McNeese, Nicholls, Northwestern State, Stephen F. Austin, Southeastern Louisiana, Texas A&M-Commerce and UIW)

9 – United Athletic Conference (Abilene Christian, Austin Peay, Central Arkansas, Eastern Kentucky, North Alabama, Southern Utah, Tarleton State, Utah Tech and West Georgia)

8 – Ivy League (Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Penn, Princeton and Yale)

8 – Northeast Conference (Central Connecticut State, Duquesne, LIU, Mercyhurst, Robert Morris, Saint Francis, Stonehill and Wagner)

7 – Patriot League (Bucknell, Colgate, Fordham, Georgetown, Holy Cross, Lafayette and Lehigh)

6 – Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (Delaware State, Howard, Morgan State, Norfolk State, North Carolina Central and South Carolina State)

2 – Independent (Merrimack and Sacred Heart)

The Missouri Valley Football Conference has yet to announce whether Missouri State is eligible for its 2024 league championship. The Bears are not eligible for the FCS playoffs.

Follow all of our FCS football coverage, including on XFacebook and Instagram.