With Pep Guardiola having added another league crown to his collection, we look at the most Premier League titles won by managers and those with the most top-flight titles in England overall.

Managers With the Most Premier League Title Wins

13 – Alex Ferguson
6 – Pep Guardiola
3 – Arsène Wenger, José Mourinho
1 – Antonio Conte, Carlo Ancelotti, Claudio Ranieri, Jürgen Klopp, Kenny Dalglish, Manuel Pellegrini, Roberto Mancini

Pep Guardiola may have won six league titles in eight seasons at Manchester City, but he’s still some way off replicating Alex Ferguson’s record in the Premier League.

The legendary Scottish boss won 13 of his 21 Premier League seasons in charge at Manchester United, including the first two in 1992-93 and 1993-94.

The first five Premier League seasons were all won by Scottish managers, with Kenny Dalglish winning the title with Blackburn Rovers in 1995-96, sandwiched between two league wins for Man Utd and Ferguson.

The 1997-98 campaign saw a non-British manager win the English top-flight league title for the first time ever, with Arsène Wenger bringing success to north London. That was also Arsenal’s first success since 1990-91 under George Graham.

Wenger went on to win two more titles, with his tally of three Premier League crowns level with Portuguese manager José Mourinho, who won each of his three at Chelsea.

Seven different managers have won the Premier League on just one occasion, with Chilean coach Manuel Pellegrini still the only non-European to win an English top-flight title as a manager.

Carlo Ancelotti was the first Italian to win an English top-flight title when he lifted the Premier League trophy with Chelsea in 2009-10. Another three Italians have won it as coach since – Roberto Mancini (Man City in 2011-12), Claudio Ranieri (Leicester in 2015-16) and Antonio Conte (Chelsea in 2016-17).

Mikel Arteta had been hopeful of becoming the second Spanish coach to celebrate a Premier League title win in 2023-24. Instead, Guardiola made it four in a row, something no other manager has ever achieved in England’s top tier.

Jürgen Klopp’s success with Liverpool in 2019-20 means he is the only German manager to win the top flight in England.

Alex Ferguson Most Premier League Titles

Managers With the Most Top-Flight English League Title Wins

13 – Alex Ferguson
6 – Pep Guardiola, George Ramsay, Bob Paisley
5 – Tom Watson, Matt Busby
4 – Frank Watt, Herbert Chapman, Kenny Dalglish
3 – Stan Cullis, Bill Shankly, Arsène Wenger, José Mourinho

Ferguson’s 13 title wins lead the way in English top-flight history, too.

He didn’t manage to win the old Division One in his six seasons at Man Utd before the inaugural Premier League campaign in 1992-93, but he did lead Aberdeen to the Scottish top-flight title four times prior to his arrival in Manchester.

Both George Ramsay (Aston Villa) and Bob Paisley (Liverpool) won six English top-flight titles at the same club, which is something Guardiola replicated in 2023-24 with Man City.

Guardiola’s latest success saw him move past two managers tied on five league title wins. Matt Busby won each of his as Man Utd boss, while Tom Watson won three at Sunderland and a further two at Liverpool. The only other manager to win at least two top-flight league titles at two different clubs is Herbert Champman, who won a couple at Huddersfield Town before another two at Arsenal.

Howard Wilkinson led Leeds United to the top-flight title in 1991-92, making them the last team to win the championship before the Premier League era. Wilkinson remains the last English manager to win the top-flight title in England.

Enjoy this? Subscribe to our football newsletter to receive exclusive weekly content. You should also follow our social accounts over on XInstagramTikTok and Facebook.