The Kentucky Derby and the “most exciting two minutes in sports” may have started the sports month in Louisville, but it’s turned to a four-day spotlight this week as the stars come out for the PGA Championship.

The second of golf’s four major tournaments will be held at Valhalla Golf Club, which has been lengthened to a par-71, 7,609-yard track for the 156-player field.

Defending champion Brooks Koepka, a LIV Golf player, and Rory McIlroy, who won on the PGA Tour this past weekend and captured the most-recent PGA Championship at Valhalla, are among the top participants.

Following are plenty of 2024 PGA Championship facts and statistics to know heading toward the Thursday-to-Sunday action:

  • This is the 106th PGA Championship – Valhalla is hosting it for the fourth time after 1996, 2000 and 2014, which is more than any other venue since the 1990s. Overall, only Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma, has welcomed the event on more occasions (five).

  • The first two PGA Championships played at Valhalla were decided by a playoff: Mark Brooks defeated Kenny Perry in 1996 and Tiger Woods overcame Bob May in 2000. In 2014, Rory McIlroy won by one stroke over Phil Mickelson.

  • There has only been one playoff in the last 12 editions of the PGA Championship – the 2022 event, when Justin Thomas edged out Will Zalatoris.

  • The last eight winners of the PGA Championship are all American, the longest reign of dominance by one nationality at a major since Americans won 12 consecutive U.S. Opens from 1982 to 1993. The last non-U.S. golfer to win the PGA is Jason Day in 2015, while the last European to lift the Wannamaker Trophy is Rory McIlroy at Valhalla in 2014.

  • Thirty of the last 32 majors have been won by a U.S. or European golfer. The two exceptions are Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama at the 2021 Masters and Australia’s Cameron Smith at the 2022 Open Championship.

  • Only Walter Hagen (five), Jack Nicklaus (five) and Tiger Woods (four) have won the PGA Championship more times than last year’s winner Brooks Koepka (three).

  • Five of the last seven PGA Championships have been won by Brooks Koepka (2018, 2019 and 2023) or Justin Thomas (2017 and 2022). Koepka will aim to become only the second player to win back-to-back PGAs twice in the stroke play era, after Tiger Woods (1999/2000 and 2006/2007).

  • Scottie Scheffler will aim to become only the third golfer since the turn of the century to win the first two majors in a calendar year, after Tiger Woods (2002) and Jordan Spieth (2015). Scheffler finished tied for second behind Brooks Koepka at last year’s PGA Championship.
  • Scottie Scheffler has had a top-10 finish in 10 of his last 15 major tournament appearances. Since 2020, only Rory McIlroy has secured as many top-10 finishes.

  • Scottie Scheffler has won four of his last five tournaments (Arnold Palmer Invitational, Players Championship, the Masters and The Heritage). The only exception was the Houston Open, where he finished tied for second, one shot behind winner Stephen Jäger.

  • Scottie Scheffler is 161-under par in his 10 PGA Tour events this season, with 30 of his 39 rounds in the 60s, and none over par.

  • Rory McIlroy’s last major victory was the 2014 PGA Championship at Valhalla – he’s won none of his subsequent 35 major appearances, his longest career drought. However, McIlroy has won each of his last two starts on the PGA Tour (Zurich Classic with Shane Lowry and this past weekend’s Wells Fargo Championship).

  • Brooks Koepka has had a top-five finish in six of his last nine PGA Championship appearances, including victories in 2018, 2019 and 2023. The PGA is the only major tournament in which he’s always made the cut (11 of 11).

  • With a win at the PGA Championship, Jordan Spieth would become only the sixth golfer in history to secure a career Grand Slam – after Gene Sarazen, Ben Hogan, Gary Player, Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods. Spieth last finished inside the top 25 at the PGA in 2019 (tie for third).

  • Jon Rahm has made the cut in each of his last 18 major tournament appearances, the longest current run among male golfers. The last time he failed to see the weekend was at the 2019 PGA Championship.

  • Xander Schauffele has finished inside the top 10 at major tournaments 12 times since 2017. That’s more than any other golfer over that period who doesn’t have a major win in his career.

  • Max Homa has had a top-10 finish in each of the last two majors (tie for 10th at the Open Championship and a tie for third at the Masters) after never having secured a top 10 in his previous 16 appearances.

  • Tommy Fleetwood is the only player with a top-10 finish at each of the last three major championships (tied for fifth at the U.S. Open and a tie for 10th at the Open Championship last year before a tie for third at the Masters last month).

  • Cameron Smith is one of only two players to have finished inside the top 10 in each of the last three majors played in the United States. Scottie Scheffler is the other.

  • Will Zalatoris has recorded seven top-10s in his first 11 major championships appearances. It includes a tie for eighth (2021) and a second-place finish (2022) in his two PGA Championships.

  • Since winning the PGA Championship in 2022, Justin Thomas has not finished inside the top 35 at a major, missing the cut in four of those last five appearances.

  • Since winning the Masters in 2020, Dustin Johnson has had more missed cuts (five) than top-10s (three) in the majors.

  • Patrick Cantlay has only one top-five finish in his 28 appearances at a major. It occurred at the 2019 PGA Championship.

  • Phil Mickelson is the oldest player to win a major – he was 50 years and 11 months old when he lifted the Wannamaker Trophy in the PGA Championship at Kiawah Island in 2021. This will be his 123rd major tournament, trailing only Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Tom Watson, Arnold Palmer and Raymond Floyd.

  • Phil Mickelson is the only player to have finished in the top 10 in each of the previous three PGA Championships played at Valhalla (a tie for eighth in 1996, a tie for ninth in 2000 and second place in 2014).

  • The last 47 editions of the PGA Championship have produced an under-par winning score. The last time the tournament was won with an even/over-par score was 1976, when Dave Stockton finished +1 for the week.

Enjoy this? Check out our MLBNBA and NFL coverage, and follow along on X and Instagram for more.