We look back at the players to have won the most penalties in Premier League history, plus the teams to have been awarded the most spot-kicks in the competition in a single season.

It was a day to forget for Raheem Sterling and Chelsea on Matchday 2 of the 2023-24 Premier League season as they went down 3-1 to West Ham at London Stadium. However, there was the slimmest of silver linings, for Sterling at least.

A goal-fest in May 2023 between Fulham and Leicester City saw two penalties, the first of which was won by Jamie Vardy, which had drawn the veteran striker level with Sterling as the player with the most spot-kicks earned in Premier League history. However, Sterling forcing a foul from West Ham’s Tomáš Souček with the score at 1-1 in the August 2023 game put him back in front of Vardy.

Since then, he distanced himself even further, winning two more penalties for Chelsea against Burnley (October 2023) and Fulham (January 2024), taking his total penalties won in Premier League history to 26.

Most Penalties Won By Players in Premier League History:

Raheem Sterling: 26
Jamie Vardy: 23
Wilfried Zaha: 19
Alan Shearer: 15
Danny Welbeck: 14
Andrew Johnson: 14

Back in the Premier League with Leicester, Jamie Vardy can now hunt down Sterling’s record. While the 37-year-old has won all 23 of his penalties for one club, Sterling’s 26 are split between his time at Liverpool (four) Manchester City (19), and now Chelsea (three). Nineteen for one club puts Sterling joint-second with Wilfried Zaha who has won all 19 of his for Crystal Palace.

Of current Premier League players, Danny Welbeck (14), Mohamed Salah and Ashley Young (both 13) are the ones closest to cracking the top three.

It’s no surprise to see all three of Sterling, Zaha and Vardy feature in the list for most penalties won in a single season in the Premier League, but they all trail Andrew Johnson of Crystal Palace who earned eight in the 2004-05 campaign.

Most Penalties Won By A Player in a Single Premier League Season:

Andrew Johnson 2004-05: 8
Jamie Vardy 2015-16: 7
Wilfried Zaha 2018-19: 6
Raheem Sterling 2017-18: 6
Anthony Gordon 2023-24: 6

Despite all those spot-kicks, Palace were actually relegated that season. The Eagles won 12 penalties in total that campaign, which was a joint-league high until Leicester in 2015-16 surpassed that tally, helped by Vardy. But the Foxes’ tally was pushed into second place in 2019-20 when Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s Manchester United side won an incredible 14 penalties in one campaign, after having earned 12 in the season before.

Most Penalties Won By A Team in a Single Premier League Season:

Manchester United 2019-2020: 14
Leicester City 2015-2016: 13
Manchester United 2018-2019: 12
Leicester City 2020-2021: 12
Chelsea 2023-2024: 12
Arsenal 2006-2007: 12
Blackburn Rovers 1994-1995: 12
Crystal Palace 2004-2005: 12
Liverpool 2013-2014: 12
Chelsea 2009-2010: 12

Bournemouth had an unwanted achievement at the other end of the scale in 2022-23, when they became just the ninth team to fail to win a single penalty in a Premier League season.

Every other team in 2022-23 won at least three penalties, with the introduction of VAR surely making spot-kicks even more likely, but Bournemouth, unfortunately for them, were not handed even one. It makes their unlikely survival that season even more impressive.

Teams to win no penalties in a single Premier League season

Enjoy this? Subscribe to our mailing list to receive exclusive weekly content. And follow us on Twitter too.