There aren’t any wrong choices when selecting the season-ending FCS legacy awards, just plenty of right ones with a ballot that’s filled by deserving finalists, and winners in the eye of the beholder.

There are 56 voters on the national FCS panel that selects the Walter Payton (offensive player), Buck Buchanan (defensive player), Jerry Rice (freshman player) and Eddie Robinson (coach) awards.

Here is one voter’s ballot following the regular season:

Walter Payton Award

Winner to be announced on Jan. 6 (on Dec. 4, three will be invited to the announcement)

1. Matthew Sluka, QB, Holy Cross (Patriot League)

What Stands Out: Rushed for 330 yards against Lafayette, setting the Division I single-game record by a quarterback. The PL offensive player of the year had 120+ rushing yards four other times (twice against FBS opponents) and accounted for 4+ total touchdowns four times.

Regular Season: 122 of 197 (62%), 1,728 yards, 20 TDs, 5 INTs, 164.0 pass efficiency; 1,243 rush yards, 9 TDs (11 games, but only nine full games)

2. Dylan Laube, RB, New Hampshire

3. Cam Miller, QB, North Dakota State

4. Isaiah Davis, RB, South Dakota State

5. Mark Gronowski, QB, South Dakota State

Buck Buchanan Award

Winner to be announced on Jan. 6 (on Dec. 4, three will be invited to the announcement)

1. Terrell Allen, DE, Tennessee State (Big South-OVC Football Association)

What Stands Out: During the regular season, the inaugural Big South-OVC’s defensive player of the year led the FCS in sacks and tackles for loss (his 28 tied for the 10th-most in a season since 2000, with the per-game average tying for fifth).  

Regular Season: 65 tackles (44 solos), 28 TFL (149 yards), 14.5 sacks, 10 QB hurries, 5 forced fumbles, 1 fumble recovery, 1 pass breakup (11 games)

2. PJ Jules, S, Southern Illinois

3. Dylan Kelly, LB, UAlbany

4. Finn Claypool, DE, Drake

5. Ty French, DE, Gardner-Webb

Jerry Rice Award

Winner to be announced on Dec. 6

1. Eli Gillman, RB, Montana (Big Sky Conference)

What Stands Out: Led FCS freshmen in the regular season in rushing yards (fourth in per-game average) and tied for the most touchdowns, also setting the Montana record for longest scoring run (85 yards). Received the Big Sky freshman of year award.

Regular Season: 152 carries, 857 yards (5.6 ypc), 10 TDs; 11 receptions, 103 yards (11 games)

2. MJ Flowers, RB, Eastern Illinois

3. Connor Moore, LT, Montana State

4. Hunter Green, P, Northern Colorado

5. Beau Sparks, WR, Utah Tech

Eddie Robinson Award

Winner to be announced on Dec. 7

1. Bobby Hauck, Montana (Big Sky Conference)

What Stands Out: The Grizzlies underwent a quarterback change following a sluggish start to the season, then won their final seven games and an outright conference title (the first since 2009) before gaining the No. 2 playoff seed. Became the Big Sky’s all-time winningest coach.

Regular Season: 10-1, 7-1 (first place); No. 2 national ranking

2. John Troxell, Lafayette

3. Greg Gattuso, UAlbany

4. Todd Stepsis, Drake

5. Bob Nielson, South Dakota