NCAA conference affiliation changes will go into effect on July 1 for the 2023-24 academic year.

There is an unmistakable impact on the FCS level of Division I college football, including the number of programs dropping to 128 from an all-time high 130 last year.

Following are the 2023 FCS conference affiliation changes:

CAA Football

Campbell and North Carolina A&T will join the Colonial Athletic Association from the Big South. The CAA will have 15 football members, a record number for the subdivision.

Big South-OVC

The Big South (four members: Bryant, Charleston Southern, Gardner-Webb and Robert Morris) and Ohio Valley (six: Eastern Illinois, Lindenwood, Southeast Missouri, Tennessee State, Tennessee Tech and UT Martin) conferences will play as a 10-school partner league.

Missouri Valley Football Conference

Murray State will move into the MVFC from the OVC as a 12th member (Western Illinois football is scheduled to leave the MVFC for the OVC in 2024, which would drop the membership back to 11).

United Athletic Conference

The ASUN and Western Athletic Conference have rebranded their nine-member football alliance as the UAC.  


Kennesaw State, a ninth-year program, will transition toward a 2024 debut in the FBS (Conference USA membership) as an FCS independent, expected to go above the scholarship limit and become ineligible for the playoffs.

FBS Additions

Jacksonville State (ASUN) and Sam Houston (WAC) will move up to the FBS, joining Conference USA.