Who Has Won the Most Penalties in Premier League History?
Who Has Won the Most Penalties in Premier League History?

Who Has Won the Most Penalties in Premier League History?

We look back at the players to have won the most penalties in Premier League history, plus the teams to have been awarded the most spot-kicks in the competition within a season.

Yesterday’s goal-fest between Fulham and Leicester City saw two penalties – one scored and one missed. The first penalty was won by Jamie Vardy and was notable for the fact that it drew the veteran striker level with Raheem Sterling as the player with the most spot-kicks earned in Premier League history.

Most Penalties Won by Players in the Premier League

Vardy has won all 23 of his penalties for one club of course, while Sterling’s are split between his time at Liverpool (four) and Manchester City (19). Nineteen for one club puts Sterling joint-second with Wilfried Zaha who has won all 19 of his for Crystal Palace.

It’s no surprise to see all three players feature in the top player list for most penalties won in a single season in the Premier League, but they all trail Andrew Johnson of Crystal Palace who earned eight in the 2004-05 campaign.

Most Premier League Penalties Won by Players in a Season

Despite all those spot-kicks, Palace were actually relegated that season. The Eagles won 12 penalties in total that campaign, which was a joint-league high until Leicester in 2015-16 surpassed that tally, helped by Vardy. But the Foxes tally was pushed into second place in 2019-20 when Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s Manchester United side won an incredible 14 penalties in one campaign, after having earned 12 in the season before.

Most Penalties Won by Teams in a Season Premier League

Spare a thought for Bournemouth, who are the only Premier League team in 2022-23 yet to win a penalty. They have three games left to win one in order to avoid becoming just the ninth team to not be awarded one in a single Premier League season and the first in the competition since Burnley in 2017-18.

Teams to not win a penalty in a Premier League season

Enjoy this? Subscribe to our mailing list to receive exclusive weekly content. And follow us on Twitter too.