A rematch between South Dakota State and North Dakota State in the FCS playoffs would be a well-received championship game.

Or a rematch between Holy Cross and Fordham – arguably the regular-season game of the year – and Montana State and Weber State in the second round.

Similarly, Southern may get another shot at Jackson State in the SWAC Championship Game.

If any of this happens, would the postseason result be the same as in the regular season?

It’s more likely in the SWAC, which began to host an annual championship game in 1999. The team that won the regular-season matchup has gone on to complete a sweep twice as often as the regular-season loser winning the more-important second matchup. It’s a 14-7 advantage.

In a similar time period with the playoffs – since 2000, or representing half of the 44 overall postseasons – it’s been more common for the regular-season loser to win the second time around – 26 of 49 matchups.

Here is a breakdown of the results when two teams face off for a second time in the postseason:

SWAC Championship Game (1999-Present)

One Team Sweeps Two Meetings
2019: Alcorn State over Southern
2018: Alcorn State over Southern
2017: Grambling State over Alcorn State
2016: Grambling State over Alcorn State
2014: Alcorn State over Southern
2012: Arkansas-Pine Bluff over Jackson State
2010: Texas Southern over Alabama State
2009: Prairie View A&M over Alabama A&M
2008: Grambling State over Jackson State
2005: Grambling State over Alabama A&M
2003: Southern over Alabama State
2002: Grambling State over Alabama A&M
2000: Grambling State over Alabama A&M
1999: Southern over Jackson State
Postseason Winner Gains Split
2015: Alcorn State vs. Grambling State
2013: Southern vs. Jackson State
2011: Grambling State vs. Alabama A&M
2007: Jackson State vs. Grambling State
2006: Alabama A&M vs. Arkansas-Pine Bluff
2004: Alabama State vs. Southern
2001: Grambling State vs. Alabama State

FCS Playoffs (Since 2000)

One Team Sweeps Two Meetings
2020: South Dakota State over Southern Illinois
2019: North Dakota State over Illinois State
2018: Eastern Washington over UC Davis
2018: North Dakota State over South Dakota State
2017: Wofford over Furman
2016: James Madison over New Hampshire
2015: Charleston Southern over The Citadel
2015: Illinois State over Western Illinois
2015: Jacksonville State over Chattanooga
2015: North Dakota State over Northern Iowa
2015: Richmond over William & Mary
2014: Eastern Washington over Montana
2014: North Dakota State over South Dakota State
2013: Eastern Illinois over Tennessee State
2013: New Hampshire over Maine
2013: Southeastern Louisiana over Sam Houston
2012: North Dakota State over South Dakota State
2009: Villanova over William & Mary
2008: James Madison over Villanova
2006: Illinois State over Eastern Illinois
2006: UMass over New Hampshire
2006: Youngstown State over Illinois State
2001: Georgia Southern over Appalachian State
Postseason Winner Gains Split
2021: Montana vs. Eastern Washington
2019: Weber State vs. Montana
2019: Northern Iowa vs. South Dakota State
2017: Furman vs. Elon
2017: Kennesaw State vs. Samford
2017: South Dakota State vs. Northern Iowa
2017: Weber State vs. Southern Utah
2016: San Diego vs. Cal Poly
2016: Wofford vs. The Citadel
2016: North Dakota State vs. South Dakota State
2015: Colgate vs. New Hampshire
2015: Sam Houston vs. McNeese
2015: North Dakota State vs. Montana
2014: Illinois State vs. Northern Iowa
2010: Georgia Southern vs. Wofford
2009: Villanova vs. New Hampshire
2008: Montana vs. Weber State
2005: Appalachian State vs. Furman
2005: Cal Poly vs. Montana
2004: William & Mary vs. Delaware
2004: James Madison vs. William & Mary
2004: Montana vs. Sam Houston
2002: Western Kentucky vs. Western Illinois
2002: Western Kentucky over McNeese
2001: Furman vs. Georgia Southern
2000: Appalachian State vs. Troy State

Jesse Abrahams, Jake Coyne and Josiah Sukumaran contributed research.