It doesn’t matter if your favorite FCS team is unbeaten or defeated an FBS opponent, somehow it’s been overlooked, undervalued and disrespected.

It says on the Internet, so it must be true.

The season-long bickering is almost over (insert laughter here). The NCAA selection committee will unveil its 24-team pairings on Sunday during an ESPNU selection show, beginning at 12:30 p.m. EST.

Maybe you’ll be happy with the field, but more likely, you’ll find something to complain about.

But first, get worked up by our bracket projection. At least Mercer and Northern Iowa will – they were the last two teams left out.


* – Automatic qualifier; other teams are projected at-large selections

AQ7 (2): *Sam Houston (10-0), Stephen F. Austin (8-3)

Big Sky (5): *Sacramento State (9-2), Eastern Washington (9-2), Montana (9-2), Montana State (9-2), UC Davis (8-3)

Big South (1): *Kennesaw State (10-1)

CAA (3): *Villanova (9-2), James Madison (10-1), Rhode Island (7-4)

Missouri Valley (5): *North Dakota State (10-1), Missouri State (8-3 or 7-4), South Dakota (7-4), South Dakota State (8-3), Southern Illinois (7-4)

Northeast (1): *Sacred Heart (8-3)

Ohio Valley (1): *UT Martin (9-2)

Patriot (1): *Holy Cross (9-2)

Pioneer (1): *Davidson (8-2)

Southern (1): *ETSU (10-1)

Southland (2): *UIW (9-2), Southeastern Louisiana (8-3)

SWAC (1): Florida A&M (9-2)


Top eight seeds receive first-round byes.            

UIW at Stephen F. Austin winner at No. 1 seed Sam Houston

Davidson at Kennesaw State winner at No. 8 seed ETSU

South Dakota at Montana State winner at No. 5 seed Eastern Washington

UC Davis at South Dakota State winner at No. 4 seed Sacramento State

Southeastern Louisiana at Florida A&M winner at No. 3 seed James Madison

Rhode Island at Holy Cross winner at No. 6 seed Villanova

Sacred Heart at Missouri State winner at No. 7 seed Montana

UT Martin at Southern Illinois first-round winner at No. 2 seed North Dakota State


Playoff games prior to the national championship game are played at campus sites.

Playoff Selection Show: Sunday (12:30 p.m. EST, ESPNU)

First Round: Nov. 27

Second Round: Dec. 3-4

Quarterfinals: Dec. 10-11

Semifinals: Dec. 17-18

Championship Game: Jan. 8 at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas