Seventeen finalists were announced on Monday for the 2021 Stats Perform FCS Eddie Robinson Award, which is presented to the national coach of the year in college football’s Division I subdivision.

Named for the legendary coach of Grambling State and first presented in 1987, the Robinson Award is celebrating its 35th anniversary season. A 50-member, national media panel will select the winner, who will be announced on Dec. 14.

The Eddie Robinson Award finalists:

Brian Bohannon, Kennesaw State (Big South)

Team Record: 10-1, 7-0; Notable: Outright Big South champ is unbeaten against non-FBS teams

Colby Carthel, Stephen F. Austin (AQ7)

Team Record: 8-3, 4-2; Notable: Lumberjacks have earned first playoff bid since 2014

Glenn Caruso, St. Thomas (Pioneer)

Team Record: 7-3, 6-2; Notable: After move up from Division III, Tommies tied for third-best PFL record

Bob Chesney, Holy Cross (Patriot)

Team Record: 9-2, 6-0; Notable: Crusaders beat FBS program UConn, pushed league win streak to 11

Matt Entz, North Dakota State (MVFC)

Team Record: 10-1, 7-1; Notable: Outright MVFC champ has earned the No. 2 seed in playoffs

Mark Ferrante, Villanova (CAA)

Team Record: 9-2, 7-1; Notable: CAA co-champ earned automatic playoff bid with win at James Madison

K.C. Keeler, Sam Houston (AQ7)

Team Record: 10-0, 6-0; Notable: 2016 Robinson Award recipient has led reigning FCS champ to No. 1 playoff seed

Chris Merritt, Bryant (Northeast)

Team Record: 7-4, 5-2; Notable: Bulldogs knocked off NEC champ Sacred Heart in best season since 2014

Eric Morris, UIW (Southland)

Team Record: 9-2, 7-1; Notable: Cardinals captured first outright Southland title and automatic playoff bid

Bobby Petrino, Missouri State (MVFC)

Team Record: 8-3, 6-2; Notable: Bears finished second in an MVFC that has six playoff teams

Oliver “Buddy” Pough, South Carolina State (MEAC)

Team Record: 6-5, 5-0; Notable: After MEAC sweep, Bulldogs to play in Celebration Bowl for the first time

Deion Sanders, Jackson State (SWAC)

Team Record: 10-1, 8-0; Notable: Tigers to play in SWAC championship game for first time since 2013

Randy Sanders, ETSU (Southern)

Team Record: 10-1, 7-1; Notable: Outright SoCon champ earned No. 7 playoff seed

Jason Simpson, UT Martin (OVC)

Team Record: 9-2, 5-1; Notable: Outright OVC champ posted program-record nine-game win streak

Troy Taylor, Sacramento State (Big Sky)

Team Record: 9-2, 8-0; Notable: 2019 Robinson Award recipient has led Hornets to Big Sky title, No. 4 playoff seed

Buddy Teevens, Dartmouth (Ivy)

Team Record: 9-1, 6-1; Notable: Ivy co-champ has gone at least 8-2 in six of last seven seasons

Brent Vigen, Montana State (Big Sky)

Team Record: 9-2, 7-1; Notable: First-time head coach has led Bobcats to No. 7 playoff seed

Past winners of the Robinson Award include Mark Duffner, Erk Russell, Chris Ault, Jim Tressel, Houston Nutt, Andy Talley, Paul Johnson, Joe Glenn, Mike Ayers, Jerry Kill, Jerry Moore and two-time recipients Mickey Matthews, Sean McDonnell and Craig Bohl.

Also this season, Stats Perform will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive player of the year), Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year) and Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.